Command Line option to merge PDF files

This Forum is for the use of End Users requiring help and assistance for Tracker Software's PDF-Tools.

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Chris - Tracker Supp, Sean - Tracker, Tracker Supp-Stefan

bgfullerton
User

Command Line option to merge PDF files

Post by bgfullerton »

I am new to this and cannot find an example of how to "Merge" pdf files using the command line. I have a folder containing 26 PDF files that have been collected during the past year. Now, at year end, I would like to use the command line to merge the 26 pdf files into one single pdf file. I have tried the "imagetopdf" option but it says it cannot find the image. An example would be very helpful.
Willy Van Nuffel
User

Re: Command Line option to merge PDF files

Post by Willy Van Nuffel »

Hello,

I suppose you have downloaded and installed PDF-XChange PDF-Tools V6 from here:
https://www.pdf-xchange.com/product/pdf-tools

To begin, I do not see a reason why you should use command line for a one time operation.

Simply start PDF-Xchange PDF-Tools V6 and click the Split/Merge icon.

In the panel at the right,
- at "Ask for source files", you can set what kind of files you like to merge (= PDF Documents)
- at "Split/Merge Documents", make sure to select "all pages to one document", and check "Show dialog for manual split/merge", so you can still decide - during the merge process - if there are particular pages that you like move or delete
- at "Change Document Properties", leave it like it is
- at "Save document", do not change anything
- at "Show files", leave the choice to "Open containing folder and select files"
Now, in the top left corner of the PDF-Tools window, click Run
Select the files that you like to merge
Click "Open"