Multiple printers v4 showing in TS environment

PDF-XChange Drivers API (only) V4/V5
This Forum is for the use of Software Developers requiring help and assistance for Tracker Software's PDF-XChange Printer Drivers SDK (only) - VERSION 4 & 5 - Please use the PDF-Tools SDK Forum for Library DLL assistance.

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Chris - Tracker Supp, Sean - Tracker, Tracker Supp-Stefan

Post Reply
docu-track99
User
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:13 pm

Multiple printers v4 showing in TS environment

Post by docu-track99 »

Hi,

We have issue where users on terminal server environment see multiple tracker printers. Our client will reboot the server to resolved this issue. We would like to resolve this issue without having to reboot the machine. Any help will be appreciated.



Below are lines of code we use to initialize tracker printer.


Private Sub InitializeTrackerPrinter()
Dim sKey As String = "XXXXXXX"
Dim sDevCode As String = "XXXXXXX"

Try

PDFPFactory = Nothing
PDFPFactory = New PXCComLib5.CPXCControlEx
Threading.Thread.Sleep(200)
PDFPFactory.RemoveOrphanPrinters("", "Doc.It 4 PDF Printer")
PDFPrinter = PDFPFactory.Printer("", "Doc.It 4 PDF Printer", sKey, sDevCode)
Threading.Thread.Sleep(200)

With PDFPrinter

If nDocItDefaultPrinter = 1 Then
.SetAsDefaultPrinter()
End If

.Option("Save.SaveType") = "Save"
.Option("Save.ShowSaveDialog") = "No"
.Option("Save.WhenExists") = "Overwrite"
.Option("Save.RunApp") = false
.Option("Fonts.EmbedAll") = 1
.Option("DevMode.PapSize") = 1
.ApplyOptions(nTPPApplyOptions)
End With

Catch ex As Exception
mGenericError(ex, False)
End Try
End Sub




Thank you,
Doc.It Inc
User avatar
Ivan - Tracker Software
Site Admin
Posts: 3549
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:36 pm
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Re: Multiple printers v4 showing in TS environment

Post by Ivan - Tracker Software »

I suspect that every user on TS who run your app has own printer?
Tracker Software (Project Director)

When attaching files to any message - please ensure they are archived and posted as a .ZIP, .RAR or .7z format - or they will not be posted - thanks.
docu-track99
User
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:13 pm

Re: Multiple printers v4 showing in TS environment

Post by docu-track99 »

Yes. Every user in TS gets their own tracker printer.
docu-track99
User
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:13 pm

Re: Multiple printers v4 showing in TS environment

Post by docu-track99 »

[b]Attention Tracker
Priority Level : Very High
Subject : Need Help, Multiple printers v4 showing in TS environment[/b]

This became an urgent issue for us. We reported this issue a year ago but we never heard from you guys after one reply.
Every user in TS gets their own tracker printer but some user gets multiple virtual printers (All printer does not work except one). They have to select the right printer to print.

Do you guys have any resolution for this issue?

Doc.It
User avatar
Roman - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 3:19 pm

Re: Multiple printers v4 showing in TS environment

Post by Roman - Tracker Supp »

Hi.
What is the name pattern for those multiple tracker printers?
Or provide an excerpt (3-4 names from the same TS session).
docu-track99
User
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:13 pm

Re: Multiple printers v4 showing in TS environment

Post by docu-track99 »

We initialize the printer using line written below. (Whole the subroutine is mentioned in my first post.)

PDFPrinter = PDFPFactory.Printer("", "Doc.It 4 PDF Printer", sKey, sDevCode)


So the name of the printer is "Doc.It 4 PDF Printer" and when the issue occurs the name pattern would become
Doc.It 4 PDF Printer
Doc.It 4 PDF Printer (1)
Doc.It 4 PDF Printer (2)
Doc.It 4 PDF Printer (3)
Doc.It 4 PDF Printer (4)
......
......

and so on.
docu-track99
User
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:13 pm

Re: Multiple printers v4 showing in TS environment

Post by docu-track99 »

And also, only one of the multiple "Doc.It 4 Printer" will work.
User avatar
Roman - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 3:19 pm

Re: Multiple printers v4 showing in TS environment

Post by Roman - Tracker Supp »

Ok, so the multiple printers are generated through the SDK, not redirected from TS client or so.
Am I right in thinking that your application creates a PDF-XChange printer not only for internal use but exposes it to be used by the user?
docu-track99
User
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:13 pm

Re: Multiple printers v4 showing in TS environment

Post by docu-track99 »

Multiple printers are generated through the SDK and yes it is exposed to be used by the user. (That is the issue that user are seeing multiple printers in Windows devices and printers)
User avatar
John - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 5219
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:34 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Multiple printers v4 showing in TS environment

Post by John - Tracker Supp »

Hi,

I regret to tell you this will not be changed - there would be multiple issues and potential licensing consequences were we to do so.

PDF-XChange is designed to create a temporary instance of the printer to allow your user to print from your application - leaving the printers available permanently not only causes problems you have described (and more I suspect in some environments) but also causes potential licensing breaches where now users have a PDF printer available to all applications rather than just yours and this is outside of the T&C's of your license.

Further, for us to change the architecture of the printers design would be a massive task to achieve what you require (if we were motivated to ignore the licensing issues - which we are not).

A simpler solution is for you is to ensure that the printers are named uniquely and identifiable by each specific user - perhaps by your applications user login info (assuming this is required) or some other means satisfactory to yourself and your users - but please do note the potential licensing abuse issues, I believe we have discussed this previously in the past an I would not want this to become an issue again.
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards
Tracker Support
http://www.tracker-software.com
Post Reply