Product Reviews for PDF-XChange Viewer

Avg. Score: 5/5 Start
  • by Pit 21 Oct 2012 05:49:44
    Fast simple good
  • by Daniel 18 Sep 2012 05:29:22
    This is an incredible program to read and customize your PDF's.<br /> <br /> Es un excelente programa para leer y editar (subrayar, resaltar, hacer lineas, etc.) a tus documentos en PDF
  • by S Bhatia 11 Sep 2012 10:34:00
    <p>Why use anything else - best of both worlds (Adobe and Foxit). <br /> The new Foxit interface became too simple - removed essential buttons. <br /> Started looking for alternatives and found the perfect one!</p>
  • by Leo Novsky 12 Jul 2012 23:28:45
    This is BY FAR the best PDF manipulation program out there. Easy to use, it is totally versatile. I am able to manipulate documents as if I was in ADOBE. It is also fantastic for filling out PDF forms. The Photo option is GENIUS!<br /> <br /> Thank you!
  • by Chris 26 Jun 2012 10:11:20
    That's exactly what i was looking for, to recognice and copy text in a .pdf-file. thx so much
  • by mr. ranger 29 May 2012 06:00:04
    Awesome.<br /> It has everything, and it is fast, simple and works.<br /> When is this coming for linux (it does work with wine also )
  • by Leonard J. Umina 14 May 2012 10:38:24
    <p>I am a highly technical and professional user. I am also a developer and do a lot of legal work with PDF's. PDF-XChange Viewer so outclasses Acrobat X that its almost hard to make a comparison for one reason. It works. For example, I have a PDF that is over 7,000 pages. Adobe will not OCR this document. It gets through about 5,200 pages and fails alleging that its out of memory or disk space, when in fact there's gigabytes of memory and terrabytes of disk space available. PDF-XChange does the full 7,000 page document without complaining, and I've noticed no difference in accuracy.<br /> <br /> Further, if you are trying to print single pages of a large PDF my observation is that Adobe Acrobat X bleeds about 1 Megabyte of memory per page printed. So if you start a session and want to print a bunch of individual pages (say a few hundred out of several thousand) it will keep 1 Megabyte for each page you print until it finally runs out of memory (itself, not your system memory) and when it does it will crash, and sometimes the crash will bring down Windows. If you try to run prints from a macro that is printing your single pages to send them to OneNote one page at a time or from a list of pages you need held in a file, you can count on Adobe Acrobat X crashing once you cross the threshold. PDF-XChange does not have this problem. It merrily handles single page printing driven from macros (with the appropriate delays) and does not crash. I did this for two documents over 5,000 pages, one page at a time, printing all pages. The product could be faster if the screen updates and previews could be turned off, but the point is Adobe Acrobat can't even do this without crashing.<br /> <br /> I really like this product. I just wish it was on Linux, so I could get away from the inherent instability of Windows entirely. DO NOT BUY ACROBAT X, before you try this product.<br /> <br /> /Len Umina</p>
  • by Scott Daggett 10 May 2012 06:54:24
    I really wish I had found this a long time ago! I'm only now beginning to get familiar with it, but just in the first few minutes of use I became convined that the defacto-standard PDF reader is severley crippled, and intentionally so it seems. I understand Adobe's right to make a profit, so I can't blame them, but I am soooo greatful to Tracker for PDF XChange Viewer, which is now my default PDF reader. I wish PDF XChange Viewer would be the new defacto standard (and on all platforms would be great!). That way, I could produce functional PDFs that I could be confident any user could actually use and save. It would enable me to produce Javascript-enabled live forms using open-source editors in the volunteer work that I do without having to require that users upgrade to XChange Viewer...because they would already have it! Thanks Tracker! Keep up the great work!
  • by Russell 30 Apr 2012 18:30:30
    The only PDF reader to install on my non-internet PC.<br /> Adobe must have internet connection, many others wanted to replace my preferred browser with the "shifty-and-sneaky-browser".<br /> One reader abandoned the install when I declined to use their browser.<br /> So far PDF-Reader is quicker than Adobe on my web-PC.<br /> Thank you "Tracker"
  • by SACHIN KHARAT 30 Apr 2012 02:55:22
    An absolutely marvelous software and highly useful software for professionals as well for example, engineers can mark-up drawings sent by client, consultants and others in PDF format and review can be done, that's just one feature...it amazingly easy to use and it has that classic and robust look and not so just glassy and shiny useless interface so it feels good to use its UI. I recommend it to everyone dealing with PDF files frequently...
  • by Chris De David 11 Apr 2012 23:18:59
    Absolutely love this product.<br /> Just a blessing that it's free for the world to use. Specially when other more market prominent products do not serve us as well as this one does.<br /> I always recommend this product to friends, clients and colleagues.<br /> And... have now added recommendation for it on a site that creates PDF files. (http://www.mindflow.com.au/targets/) ... also free service :D
  • by VanguardLH 09 Apr 2012 11:14:35
    Used the free version for years. Lower on resources than Adobe Reader but has more features. Better security options: Javascript support = disabled, Allow Launch Action = NEVER (PDFs can actually include a command to launch a program), Allow file attachments opening = PDF only (PDFs can have attached files).<br /> <br /> I have to remove a bunch of what I consider garbage search providers; however, after removal, I switch off using any search providers since I only want to search within the PDF.<br /> <br /> Letting me annotate (edit) the PDF is handy when I need to provide elucidation or instruction to someone else to whom I send a PDF file. Since I'm using only the freeware version, the option "Hide restricted PRO functions in free version" eliminates having to see menu entries that won't work.<br /> One point removed due to obtuse workaround to get PDF-Xchange Viewer to work in Google Chrome. User must go into about:plugins in Google Chrome to disable the inbuilt PDF Viewer so that PDF-Xchange Viewer gets used instead. The "Display PDF in browser" option in PDF-Xchange Viewer should take care of that automatically since that is what Tracker Software says to do (i.e., it's a known workaround). It took me way too long and only after Googling around to figure out how to get PDF-Xchange to work within Google Chrome.
  • by Ivan 05 Apr 2012 06:42:54
    <p>Like many others, I have searched and searched and experimented with a seemingly endless collection of freeware pdf conversion and editing utilities and this product is simply the best. I don't use or need the corresponding functions often, only once in a while. Congratulations to Tracker Software, I wish you all success and am certain that your business reputation and, accordingly, your operations will grow and grow. Thank you.</p>
  • by Marta 01 Apr 2012 02:10:12
    <p>Ever since I've stumbled upon the free Pdf-Xchange Viewer, I've been reccomending it to all of my friends. It's fast (much much faster than Adobe), it's light in terms of the RAM usage, it's powerfull and it doesn't insert it's own comments (besides using &quot;pro&quot; functionality).<br /> <br /> I love it!<br /> I'd wish it was available for macos too - it would rule the world!</p>
  • by Abhishek Anand 31 Mar 2012 06:20:42
    the only complain I have about it is that the handwriting(pencil) tool does not work properly. sometimes, while writing using my stylus, it starts selecting and dragging previously written strokes which are nearby. Apps like onenote which have been carefully designed for hand-writing avoid this feature by only using the right click button on stylus to select
  • by Arno Brocken 27 Mar 2012 21:14:51
    Great software, and I have tried a few others over the years. Lots of features, and one of a few that allow manipulating pages within the document through thumbnail drag-and-drop. Loads very fast, renders the thumbnails fast, too. OCR support a bonus, albeit a bit slow.
  • by Lawrence 16 Mar 2012 07:43:03
    <p>Really nothing much to complain about,<br /> but if an improvement is to be suggested, there may be more search functions available.</p>
  • by Carlos Franco 14 Mar 2012 08:34:29
    No doubts that it's one of the (if not the) best PDF viewer!
  • by freeworld 07 Mar 2012 17:33:11
    just perfect
  • by Fabricio Lima 01 Mar 2012 17:45:01
    <p>is just the best i have tried, and i have tried a lot<br /> well, almost. i want this for my linux too</p>
Show items